Featured Story

Honoring St. Luke’s Outstanding Upper School Students

On May 18, St. Luke’s Upper School students and their families joined together in the Seldin Performing Arts Center for the 2021 Upper School Awards Ceremony. Friends, extended family, and the SLS community were invited to tune in via livestream.

Kicking off the ceremony, Head of Upper School Liz Perry took a moment to thank the teachers, advisors, and class deans: “The student accomplishments we will recognize this evening are due in large part to your care and commitment, and that has never been more true than in this extraordinary school year when I have asked so much of you.”

Perry then went on to acknowledge the parents: “The awards we present tonight recognize a range of accomplishments, but one thing they have in common is character. You have raised children of character—young people who are grounded in values and who use their time and talent to make St. Luke’s better. What more could we ask for? Thank you for raising these remarkable young people.”

After the welcome remarks, Elyse Kim ‘21 performed a piano solo of Yann Tiersen’s “Comptine d'un autre été - L'après-midi,” from the film Amelie. You can watch her performance in the video below.

Awards were presented by the Class Deans, Head of Upper School Liz Perry, and Head of School Mark Davis. 

Congratulations to all of this year’s award recipients.

9th and 10th Grade Awards
Presented by 9th Grade Dean & US Science Teacher John Higgins and 10th Grade Dean & US History Teacher David Parsons

The Fancher Award: Peter Lewis ‘24 and George Foster ‘23
The Honor Award: Hannah Johnson ‘24 and Cessa Lewis ‘23
The Leadership Award: Macy Millones ‘23 and Myles Sead ‘23

11th Grade Book Awards
Presented by 11th Grade Dean and US English Teacher Susan Doran and Alec LeBris 11th Grade Dean and US Science Teacher

Brown University Book Award: Eason Jones
Cornell Book Award: Matthew Sherter
Dartmouth Book Award: Amira El Hattab and Karey Balkind
Harvard Book Prize: Aarit Bhatnagar.
St. Lawrence Book Award: Zion Profit and Will Stamoulis.
University of Pennsylvania Book Award: Sloan Barker
University of Virginia Jefferson Award: Ryan DeFilippo
Williams College Book Award: Sarah Case

Community Awards
Presented by Head of Upper School Liz Perry

James Radley Mattioli Impact Award: Jack Silverman ‘23
Nobbe Award: Elyse Kim ‘21

Announcement of the Salutatorian and Valedictorian
Presented by Head of School Mark Davis

Salutatorian: Elyse Kim
Valedictorian: Cate Mathews

12th Grade Awards
Presented by Head of School Mark Davis

The Community Service Award: Jackson Hart and Moli Ma
Seldin Family Performing Arts Award: Jack Laibe and Cameron Tyler
Richard M. Whitcomb Character Award: Eddy Boris and Aisha Memon.
Service Award: Jack Laibe
Dan Ireland Award: Brian Douglas
William K. VonFabrice Award: Doron Loewenberg
Richard J. Pedrick Award: Audrey Magnusen
Karen E. Weigman Award: Hanaa Ahmar
Be Kind Award: Abby Johnson and Koy Price
Senior Bowl: Cate Mathews
Senior Loyalty Cup: Elyse Kim
Head of School Award: Lewis Cropper and Danielle Nares

Click here to view photos from the Upper School Awards Ceremony. You can watch a recording of the ceremony below.


Download our brochure
St. Luke’s School is a secular private school in New Canaan, CT for grades 5 through 12 serving 25 towns in Connecticut and New York. Our exceptional academics and diverse co-educational community foster students’ intellectual and ethical development and prepare them for top colleges. St. Luke’s Center for Leadership builds the commitment to serve and the confidence to lead.