Featured Story

2022 Upper School Awards Ceremony

St. Luke’s Upper School students were recognized for their outstanding academic, service, leadership, art, athletic, and character-driven accomplishments at the 2022 Upper School Awards Ceremony. On Wednesday, May 25, students and their families filled the Seldin Performing Arts Center, while friends, extended family, and the St. Luke’s Community tuned in via livestream.

Head of Upper School Liz Perry opened up the evening by sharing her gratitude for the teachers, advisors, and class deans: “The student accomplishments that we will recognize this evening are due in large part to your care and commitment. Day in and day out, as St. Luke’s teachers, you model the honor code, showing honesty, respect, kindness, and responsibility in your actions, large and small. You encourage your students to take risks and help them learn from their disappointments.”

The awards presentations were given by teachers, class deans, Head of School Mark Davis, and Perry.  Davis introduced a new award, The Jordan Robinson Award, created in memory of Jordan Robinson, St. Luke’s Class of 2020, who passed away earlier this year. "As a student here, Jordan helped advance our school’s commitment to issues of social justice,” said Davis. “Jordan participated in the first St. Luke’s Civil Rights Trip and led the Diversity Leadership Council and the Black Student Union. His voice was courageous, distinctive, and always came from a place of love. Jordan brought people into the work of equity and inclusion through his head and his heart. This award carries on Jordan’s legacy by mirroring a book award that he received in his junior year at St. Luke’s. The Jordan Robinson Award recognizes a senior whose actions demonstrate a commitment to social justice and human rights in the St. Luke’s community and beyond. This year’s recipient is William Stamoulis ‘22.” 

In the words of Board Chair Jennifer L. Foster, “The ceremony was special beyond words … The joy was palpable everywhere!”  

Congratulations to this year’s Upper School award recipients:

9th and 10th Grade Awards
S. Philip Klein Emerging Leadership Award: Maggie Fleuette ‘25
The Fancher Award: William Moskowitz ‘25 and Joseph Derr ‘24
The Honor Award: Alison DeFilippo ‘25 and Maya Coniglio ‘24
The Leadership Award: Hannah Johnson ‘24 and Kelly Neuner ‘24

11th Grade Book Awards
Brown University Book Award: Josephine DeMarco and Jack Sullivan
Cornell Book Award: Myles Sead
Dartmouth Book Award: Dean Ambrose
Harvard Book Prize: Ava Sollenne
The St. Lawrence University Book Award: Benjamin Ansaldi
University of Pennsylvania Book Award: Macy Millones
University of Virginia Jefferson Award: Francesca Lewis
Williams College Book Award: Peter Cioffi and George Foster

Community Awards
James Radley Mattioli Impact Award: Charles Adams ‘24
Nobbe Award: Alessandra Lewis ‘23

12th Grade Awards
Salutatorian: Aarit Bhatnagar
Valedictorian: Sarah Case
The Community Service Award: Katherine Ellis
Seldin Family Performing Arts Award: Ryan DeFilippo and William Stamoulis
Richard M. Whitcomb Character Award: Aren Cummings
Service Award: Madeline Fredericks
Daniel Q. Ireland Award: Alexander Staikos
William K. Von Fabrice Award: Catherine Clark and Andrea DiTeodoro
Richard J. Pedrick Award: Dakota Kelly
Karen E. Wiegman Award: Liz Fleischer
The Jordan Robinson Award: William Stamoulis
Be Kind Award: Brandon Bulerin
Senior Bowl: Aarit Bhatnagar
Senior Loyalty Cup: Ryan DeFilippo
Head of School Award: Henry Robb and Matthew Sherter

Click here to view photos from the Upper School Awards Ceremony. You can watch a recording of the ceremony below.

Download our brochure
St. Luke’s School is a secular (non-religious), private school in New Canaan, CT for grades 5 through 12 serving 25 towns in Connecticut and New York. Our exceptional academics and diverse co-educational community foster students’ intellectual and ethical development and prepare them for top colleges. St. Luke’s Center for Leadership builds the commitment to serve and the confidence to lead.