Featured Story

Inspiring a Deep Love of Learning: St. Luke’s Scholars Symposium

St. Luke's mission is to inspire a deep love of learning in students. The Scholars Program fuels academic passion and ambitions by placing students at the helm of learning. This program helped inspire the Student-Led Learning Strategic Priority in the Strategic Plan. For a group of St. Luke’s seniors, these ambitions are realized through the Scholars Program. 
In April, 25 members of the Class of 2022 showcased their mastery-level research and presentation skills during the annual Scholars Symposium.

The Scholars Program and Symposium, led by Director of Studies Jim Yavenditti, encourages students to forge their own paths by embarking on a yearlong, extensive independent research project on a topic that inspires them. Scholars’ fields of study include Classical, Global, STEM, and, new this year, Literary. Scholars begin with a deep dive into research, consult with faculty mentors throughout the process, and conclude with a formal presentation of findings at the symposium. 
Topics this year include: A Lost Hope: Civil LIberties in Russia; Club Soda on the Rocks: A Study of Carbon Mineralization; The Myth Obscures the Man: Hemingway’s Struggle with Masculine Identity; and Planting a Seed: Environmental Initiatives and ESGs. See the complete list of presentations here
Yavenditti refers to the annual symposium as “the highest form of independent scholarship on the St. Luke’s Hilltop.” The scholars’ presentations took place on Wednesday, April 20, in the Jensen Family Humanities Wing and Upper School Science Wing. After each presentation, audience members were invited to ask questions. All presentations were recorded and will be shared at a later date.
St. Luke’s 2022 Senior Scholars included: 
Colt Alford, Karey Balkind, Sloan Barker, Aarit Bhatnagar, Sophie Blomberg, Sarah Case, Daniel Clavelli, Connor Cummings, Andrea DiTeodoro, Kate Ellis, Liz Fleischer, Maddie Fredericks, Madden Hart, Sam Heine, Fritz Laibe, Harrison Lambeth, Finn Regan, Michael Riley, Henry Robb, Keilan Rosow, Matthew Sherter, Will Stamoulis, Emilia von Lilien-Brockmeyer, Will Winalski, and Alexandra Winham.
St. Luke’s Scholar Advisors included:
Classical: Leo Mahler (classics teacher) and Jim Yavenditti (Director of Studies)
STEM: Alec LeBris (science teacher)
Global: Beth Yavenditti (Director of Global Education) and Jason Haynes (US History Department Chair)
Literary: Jennifer Sproule and Susan Doran (English teachers)
For photos from the Scholars Symposium, please click here.

Download our brochure
St. Luke’s School is a secular (non-religious), private school in New Canaan, CT for grades 5 through 12 serving 25 towns in Connecticut and New York. Our exceptional academics and diverse co-educational community foster students’ intellectual and ethical development and prepare them for top colleges. St. Luke’s Center for Leadership builds the commitment to serve and the confidence to lead.